Mayim Bialik on Big Bang Theory and Blossom Reunion!

bialik to bbt

If one of your guilty pleasure shows is Secret Life of an American Teenager, then you’ve recently seen Mayim Bialik, aka Blossom Russo from the 90s show Blossom, as the high school guidance counselor.

If it’s not and you’re a TV junkie like me and watch the now-canceled ‘Til Death, you’ve seen her playing a psychiatrist helping Doug through his troubles thinking his world is a scripted show.

But now you’re going to see her in her biggest post-Blossom role yet: guest-starring on Big Bang Theory as Sheldon’s girlfriend. YES. Take a breath, now come back to me. We’ve all been waiting to see if Sheldon would ever find love (or if he was even capable of it) and he will find it in the form of Bialik, who in reality has a PhD in neuroscience.

Speaking with fancast.com, she said: I just booked a recurring role as Jim Parsons’ character’s girlfriend on Big Bang Theory. It’s kind of funny because in my audition the producer said, “Do you really have a PhD in neuroscience? And I said, “Yes.” So I guess I finally found the show that’s a perfect fit, that’s as geeky as I am. To be honest with you, I had never seen it. I didn’t even know what it was. For the audition I had to basically play a female version of Sheldon. So I went on YouTube and I did my best mimicry. My husband tells me it’s the most popular scripted show in the country. I’m booked for the season finale which will air May 24th and I’m on hold for a few episodes starting next season.

Even better news than her giving Sheldon a love interest (okay, not really … nothing in current TV world is better than that!) is the mini-Blossom reunion that is planned for an episode of ‘Til Death. In the episode airing April 25th, Bialik, Jenna Von Oy (Blossom’s best friend Six), and Michael Stoyanov (Anthony, Blossom’s oldest brother, who left midway through the series), will be playing themselves in a group therapy scene brought in to help Doug.

For more on where Bialik has been all these years and her thoughts on her roles, read her entire interview here.

What do you think of Sheldon having a love interest? And how stoked are you for a Blossom reunion (although it will be without Joey Lawrence – WOAH!)? Leave your two cents below!

Farrah Kaye – Associate Editor
farrah@thetwocentscorp.com

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

This entry was posted in Big Bang Theory and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mayim Bialik on Big Bang Theory and Blossom Reunion!

  1. Anna says:

    I hope this girlfriend thing is a metahpor-becaus Sheldon with a girl is just a bad idea.

  2. Lila says:

    I think that sense she’s a female version of him, she’ll be just as asexual. Maybe this thing is like it’s not really a relationship-but it’s the closest HE’LL ever get so that’s what they’re calling it.

  3. Topaz says:

    Yuck. Sheldon with a girl? WTF?

  4. Farrah says:

    It’s not a metaphor…I know more about the plot but I don’t want to spoilt it. 🙂

    Do I think they’ll be making out and getting down like Leonard and Penny? No. But it will be real.

Give YOUR TwoCents