TwoCents & Five Questions with Katie Leclerc (Switched At Birth)

leclerc

…Katie Leclerc, Actress

We recently emailed with Katie Leclerc about her new hit show Switched At Birth. The show airs Mondays at 9PM ET on ABC Family. It also stars Leah Thompson (Back To The Future, Caroline In The City), D.W. Moffett (Friday Night Lights), Constance Marie (George Lopez), and Vanessa Marano (Gilmore Girls). Enjoy the interview!

TheTwoCents: What was the audition experience for the role of Daphne like?
Katie Leclerc: I was able to read the script beforehand and had the chance to get extra excited and extra nervous. I went into the casting office and reminded myself to stay calm. I have a lot in common with Daphnie and I knew how great the show would be. I’m thrilled they chose me and I’m excited for the opportunity.

TTC: What experiences inspired you to be an actress?
KL: I was in my junior high production of “Annie” and fell in love with the whole experience. It’s such a creative job and I’m lucky to have such supportive co-stars.

TTC: Are there any upcoming story lines you can tell us about?
KL: Viewers can look forward to the two families getting to know each other and the two girls competing over boys, school studies, and the constant love and affection of the two families.

TTC: Are you helping your co-stars to learn ASL, or is there an instructor on set?
KL: There is always an ASL master on set and he does a great job of showing the different characters visual voice. Everyone on set is learning to sign, even the crew, and it’s great for everyone to leave this show with a new skill.

TTC: Do you find yourself subconsciously picking up mannerisms of Leah Thompson or Constance Marie to portray the nature/nurture sides of your character?
KL: They are two totally different personalities but I love them both. Constance has made me more granola and Lea has made me more relaxed.

Bonus Questions!

TTC: Do you tweet? If so, do you tweet with your fans?
KL: I do! It’s amazing to go onto twitter and read the comments about how Switched at Birth has made people feel more comfortable with their deaf-ness or inspired someone to be in contact with their biological parents. If we can help one person, the whole thing is worth it.

TTC: What is one thing about you that would surprise your viewers to know?
KL: I LOVE to cook. Daphne has some culinary skills as well, so it’s fun to pick up kitchen items on the set and dream about using them myself.

Switched At Birth airs on Monday nights at 9:00pm on ABC Family.

You can follow Katie Leclerc on Twitter at @katieleclerc

Karen Belgrad – Associate Editor
karenbelgrad@
thetwocentscorp.com

About Karen Belgrad

Number cruncher by day, Karen spends way too many hours watching television and reading/writing about what she just watched. When not glued to the television, Karen sings karaoke, checks out live music, and roots for the Chicago Blackhawks and Cubs. Pop culture trivia and the Kevin Bacon game are her useless special talents. Managing Editor for TwoCentsTV.com [twitter:karenb0716]
This entry was posted in Switched At Birth and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Give YOUR TwoCents