Parenthood – Recap & Review – Pilot

photo: nbc

Parenthood
Pilot

Original Air Date: March 2, 2010

Brittany D. – Staff Writer
brittany@thetwocentscorp.com

What started as shaky ground for the show Parenthood has, in my opinion, turned into a fantastic casting decision. When Maura Tierney unfortunately left the show to focus on her health, Lauren Graham was cast instead and I couldn’t see it any other way now. She delivers a strong and funny performance and personally, I’m just relieved to see her on my TV again. Now, how about the rest of the show?

Meet the Braverman family. Lauren Graham plays Sarah, a single mom to rebellious daughter Amber and son Drew, who craves a relationship with his dead beat ‘musician’ dad. When they make the move to Berkley, Amber makes a bid to live with her boyfriend that doesn’t quite work out. Drew runs away to his father’s house, only to be found by Sarah later. What ensues is a speech at a gas station about how she will always be there for him no matter what. Meanwhile, Amber’s getting arrested with her cousin for having weed. Welcome home, Sarah!

Sarah ventures out into dating with an old flame from high school, Jim (played by Mike O’Malley) and while she’s afraid the date is a dud, it turns out that he’s sweet, kind, and caring so they hook up back at her parent’s place. Two awkward things happen: She uses a condom she found in her dad’s desk, but why would he need condoms if he’s faithfully married to his wife, annnnd her son walks in. No wonder he ran away.

Julia is a hot shot rising attorney, wife to house-husband Joel and absent mother to her daughter Sydney. So absent in fact, that her daughter prefers for her father to do everything. Julia even tries to rationalize that her daughter will be more like ‘a friend’ than a daughter.

Crosby is the youngest brother and in a complicated relationship with a woman who keeps sperm in her freezer. He accidentally commits to having a kid with her in three years, even though he is hugely afraid of commitment. So, I see this going well. Before we can all get settled into this idea, Crosby’s ex-girlfriend Jasmine tosses him a curve ball: he already has a kid named Jabar, and she’s just dropping by with him to say hello. Or something, because I bet she doesn’t want or need ANYTHING.

And finally, we have Adam and Kristina, parents to Max and Haddie. Max is a little off: he wears a pirate’s costume all the time, he gets absorbed in one task at a time, he’s socially awkward, and an outburst at school leads to a diagnosis of Aspergers, which is a form of autism. It takes Adam a while to accept it, but it soon becomes obvious that he’ll do what it takes for his son. After Max shows little interest in baseball, Adam is fired as coach for yelling at a ref. The next weekend, Max dresses himself in his baseball uniform and announces that he wants to play for his team, even after he’d previously decided to quit. The family rallies to get him to the game and he makes a solid hit.

The matriarch and patriarch of the Braveman family are Camille and Zeek respectively. They’re supposed to be the glue that holds the family together, but as mentioned earlier, Zeek (who is the aggressive father type who lives by the motto ‘life is a war’) may be having an affair, and it’s clear that Camille has her own suspicions. The episode ends with a family dinner, and one extremely satisfied recapper.

So, what did the masses think? I’m eager to see where this show goes, and I don’t quite agree with the comparisons to ABC’s Brothers & Sisters. There is less focus on the dynamic between the siblings and more on the individual families which is highly refreshing. However, at the end of the night, they come together as a family to get through whatever challenges may face them. I give the episode a B-, simply because it needs to find its footing, but it will definitely get to A status very, very soon. Let’s hope that NBC gives it that chance.

Here’s where I ask you to leave your Two Cents, and I’ll see you back here next week!

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

This entry was posted in Parenthood and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Parenthood – Recap & Review – Pilot

  1. Kevin says:

    Great synopsis B. I love Maura Tierney, but Lauren Graham brings a vulnerability that that made at least 4 scenes totally compelling. It was a serendipitous cast tweak. Peter Krause nailed it. The cast for this show is as all-star as it gets. I didn’t think my approval of Erika Christensen had room to grow, but her convincing hecticness has pushed me even closer to stalker-fan status.

    I thought this show might have a lot of banal slapstick & a bunch of parent/kid shenanigans, but drama really dominated the pilot, and I hope that attitude stays with the series.

    I’d also like to note that the camera-work & editing were a refreshing change-of-pace to the landscape of mockumentary-styled shows that have sprung up in recent years.

    Dear NBC: if you let Howard, Grazer, touching scripts & a great cast steer this show, you may redeem yourselves just a little bit after the missteps of the past few months.

  2. brittanyduke says:

    I’m glad that you commented on the camera work. I thought it was fantastic as well.

    I didn’t think that I would like Dax, however not even he could make me not like this show, and I have to say I was nervous about Erika. But I thought that she was fantastic too as the mom with too much on her plate.

    The NBC Gods could right a whole lotta wrong with this show if they keep it.

  3. KP says:

    I thought it was so well casted. I’m not too sure about Monica Potter (Lie To Me), but hopefully her character will get fleshed out a little bit more.

  4. Farrah says:

    I agree that Lauren Graham is the better cast than Maura Tierney (although I’m not happy for the reason of the recast). The cast fits well together, as odd as it seems because they are all so different.

    I wasn’t 100% impressed with the show though. It is pretty much Brothers and Sisters meets Modern Family.

    Glad to see Dax Shepard’s girlfriend…she’s from the Mighty Ducks! 🙂 Hope she sticks around for a bit. I lurved the Mighty Ducks when I was younger. 🙂

Give YOUR TwoCents