America’s Next Top Model – Recap & Review – Season Finale

photo: cw

ANTM: British Invasion
Season Finale

Original Air Date: May 30, 2012

Anne – Associate Editor
anne@thetwocentscorp.com

It seems like we took forever to get here, but it’s time for the Top Model finale! Who do you want to win? The Yank or the Brit? My choice is no secret. Laura just seems a bit stuck up to me. She’s part of the reason why I had a tough time watching this season. I’m a bit sad, because this is the last episode of ANTM as we know it. Who knows what we have coming to us for Cycle 19?!?

As we open, Sophie is so proud of herself for finally winning best picture. Going into the finale, she has the best walk and Laura has the better pictures. It’s really a toss up at this point.

Tyra Mail!Tomorrow is going to be a BLAST! Fierce & Love, Tyra

Clearly, it’s their Cover Girl commercials and photo shoot. The commercial will feature Blast Lipstick. They will consist of little clips from the whole season, do all they have to do is read copy. Jez Smith is their photographer again. Laura gets her photo done while Sophie reads her copy. Laura struggled a bit and started to get dizzy, but she fought through it. However, after she was done, she all but collapsed after she started to shake. They took her to the hospital.

Meanwhile, Sophie kicked butt at her copy and did pretty well with her photo as well. I love her refreshed pink hued tresses. I think it went great with the purple on the Cover Girl ad! When Sophie returned home, Laura was there. She had suffered a bad panic attack. I actually do empathize with her on that one. Panic attacks are horrible.

Tyra Mail!Buongiorno Bellisima! Fierce & Love, Tyra

They wonder if they’re going to Italy? Nope, it’s their Vogue Italia photo shoot. Jez Smith again. This one pretty much goes Laura’s way because it’s modeling underwear, so it’s a more sexy shoot. So once again, the girls are neck and neck. Later Mr. Jay comes to the house to do Laura’s missed copy. She didn’t suck, I have to admit.

Tyra Mail!Time to show the world the real you! Fierce & Love, Tyra

Forever 21 holographic fashion show time!! First Tyra shows up at the house for the usual individual pep talks. Then Catherine, Alisha, Eboni, and Annaliese come back to also walk in the show. Didn’t Alisha quit? I don’t think she should be able to participate. I mean I like her. I think it’s funny that now she’s saying she would be in the top two if she hadn’t quit. But you did, honey.

The fashion show is very fast moving. They have to walk in this spotlight that’s shaped like their shadow. Alisha walked ahead of hers and you couldn’t see her. Then the top two had to sword fight holographs that blew up. Then they blew holograph dandelions, which was my favorite part. I honestly thought the rest was kind of dull.

At panel, I realized we were probably seeing Mr. Jay and Nigel for the last time. We saw Miss J. for the last time at the show. Here are the prizes again, since I haven’t listed them since day one:

– Fashion spread in Italian Vogue
– Feature on Vogue.it
– Celebrity Guest Correspondent on Extra
– Single produced by CBS
– Face of Top Model perfume
– Contracts w/LA Models & NY Model Management
– $100K Cover Girl contract

I liked both Sophie’s commercial and print ad the best. The judges liked Laura’s commercial the best, but loved Sophie’s print ad. They debated and went back and forth until they declared that the winner was…

photo: cw

So, what did you think of the finale? Did you agree with the winner? Please share your TwoCents with us below! I thank you for spending another cycle with me. I’m not sure I’ll be back next cycle. If nobody else shows interest in covering the show, I might just snatch it back up! Either way, I’ll still be here, so see you in 19!

About Anne

I am 38 years old. I live with my two cats, KC & Rocky. I love crossword puzzles, playing games on my iPhone and on Facebook, I collect movie & TV DVDs, fairies, books and NASCAR memorabilia. I love sports. Philly teams especially!! I am addicted to TV. I love to talk about it!
This entry was posted in America's Next Top Model and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Give YOUR TwoCents