America’s Next Top Model – Recap & Review – Erin Wasson

photo: cw

America’s Next Top Model
Erin Wasson

Original Air Date: Feb 23, 2011

Anne – Associate Editor
anne@thetwocentscorp.com

Welcome to Cycle 16 of America’s Next Top Model (ANTM)! Tyra comes on screen and tells us things are a little different this cycle. We won’t see the typical panel castings tonight. Then she goes on to mock the different types of contestants we see. It’s actually quite amusing.

This is going to be a regular episode. The 14 contestants who made it were tricked into thinking that they didn’t make it, but Tyra dropped a curtain and they were in the Top Model House.

For more details on the models, please check both our preview and The CW page.

Tyra Mail – “Let’s get the ball rolling, shall we? Love, Tyra”

They think it’s going to be a ball or perhaps bowling. There is no way they could have guessed. They meet Mr. Jay with Erin Wasson, a famous model, stylist and jewelry designer. They will be performing a runway show. On a twelve inch runway. Over water. In huge bubble balls. Seriously. They will also have a backstage photo shoot with photographer Russell James.

The pictures show each model in various stages of getting ready for the show. They are all concerned with their walks. Miss J gives them a pep talk. Erin announces she will be the guest judge. “Pretend the bubbles are invisible”. Sure. I’m sure that’s not easy!

During the show, the only two people that I think did well are Hannah and Brittani. Ondrei, Sara and Dominique all fall. Dominique hams it up and that’s appreciated. Brittani gets called out for rocking it. She’s from PA and is my favorite so far. I like Kasia too, the plus-size model for the season. I think she’s beautiful. Erin gifts them each with a piece of her jewelry.

Back at the house, Alexandria rubs Jaclyn the wrong way when she tries to tell her what to do. She just comes off as kind of bossy and cocky. She tells us that she’s got a lot of experience so she’ll definitely be safe. Or will she?

At panel, Tyra wears a t-shirt with André Leon Talley’s face on it. He’s tickled by it. Our judges are the same. André, Tyra and Nigel. Then Erin as guest judge. What the hell is on André’s hat?!? Is that his hair? OMG, it’s awful. The prizes are the same as last year, but here they are for new viewers:

$100,000 Cover Girl contract
Contract with IMG Model Management
Photo spread in Vogue Italia
Cover and spread in Beauty In Vogue
Feature on vogue.it website

I’m actually not impressed with most of the backstage photos. They lack personality. But a few stood out to me. Ondrei and Jaclyn’s were both very pretty. Molly’s was great and Brittani’s was very artsy and quirky. I had to laugh when ALT put down her peacock feather in her hair. Did he see what’s on his head?!?

Here are the judge’s decisions:

Top 3 – Molly, Brittani & Alexandria

Bottom 2 – Angelia & Dominique

They chose Dominique to stay because of her personality and her potential. Angelia just needs more practice and experience. Did anyone else always think of the Richard Marx song when she came on screen? Maybe it’s just me.

I think this was a great premiere. I miss the casting, but it’s fun jumping right into things. It’s also easier for me to review! Makeovers are going to be a blast with this group. I can’t wait! I’m so glad that show is back.

What did you think? Any standouts for you yet? Anybody you already can’t stand? Please leave your TwoCents below and let us know what you think. Thank you for reading!

Next Episode: Alex Wek

About Anne

I am 38 years old. I live with my two cats, KC & Rocky. I love crossword puzzles, playing games on my iPhone and on Facebook, I collect movie & TV DVDs, fairies, books and NASCAR memorabilia. I love sports. Philly teams especially!! I am addicted to TV. I love to talk about it!
This entry was posted in Misc Shows and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to America’s Next Top Model – Recap & Review – Erin Wasson

  1. rachelcmann says:

    I haven’t watched in a few cycles, but I flipped in and out of it last night. I agree with who they chose to send home, and that Angelique is hella annoying. I also like that we seem to be seeing less of the house drama and more of the work. I wish they would show like 3 photos from the shoot, to show a bad one, an interesting one and a good one. The girls never see the rest of their film and therefore never learn anything. IDK, keep shaking it up Tyra, it’s good.

Give YOUR TwoCents