CSI – Recap & Review – Blood Moon

photo: cbs

CSI
Blood Moon

Original Air Date: Oct 7, 2010

Anne – Associate Editor
anne@thetwocentscorp.com

Vampires and werewolves, and crime, oh my! There’s a blood-red moon in Las Vegas this week, what could go wrong?

We open with an interspersed montage of Catherine and Vartann having passionate sex and a murder. I’m not sure which act was most disturbing. My eyes! Thank goodness I had already finished my dinner for what came next.

Willows and Vartann arrive at the crime scene in separate vehicles. They find a gruesome sight. A man has been murdered and decapitated. His head is on a pole next to him and he is strung up in barbed wire. Ray arrives and notes the Blood Moon. Many rituals are done by the Blood Moon. There’s so much blood that the team realizes the victim was alive when decapitated. Oy, my head hurts! Nick finds a bug and some hair in the vic’s mouth. Also there are ligature marks on his wrists. David approaches with a saws-all to cut him down. Doc wants the head on the pike and the body on the wire. Man, those saws-alls are pretty awesome. I’m a NASCAR fan, so I’ve seen plenty of uses for them!

But I digress. In the morgue, Doc tries to remove the head from the pike and delivers the best quote of the episode. “It’s like trying to get meat off a shish-kebob!” Doc Robbins doesn’t pull any punches! They examine the body and discover some things. The victim, soon to be identified as Michael, has scars on the palms of his hands from bloodletting. He also has no body hair, at all. They agree he’s been waxed and find a piece of wax in his belly button.

They trace the olive oil based wax to The Mediterranean Hotel’s spa. Nick and Ray go to the room and find signs of a struggle. They find a yellow contact lens on the floor and deduce that Michael was going to get married that night. They go to the wedding and find a room full of vampires. They inform the bride, Julie, and the others that Michael is dead. The leader of the vampires, Tom Stewart, explains that they are not sanguineous. Meaning they don’t drink blood. They just immerse themselves into the rest of the lore. There is a convention in town for both vampires and werewolves. The way Tom is talking makes me think that Michael was a werewolf. But he was a vampire.

Nick and Ray go to the convention and Ray gets fangs and contacts. He looks cool! Morpheus as a vampire!! They run into Andy Dick, who is playing an arms dealer with a penchant for drama. He claims to be a direct descendent of Van Helsing, himself. He gives them a hatchet that most closely resembles the murder weapon. They do their best to recreate the murder and realize there had to be more than one killer. I love these types of scenes. The quality of the graphics is superb!

The hair in Michael’s mouth turned out to be actual wolf hair. They trace the wolf to his owner, Curt Francis. He is the leader of a pack of werewolves. These guys are real jerks. They really do act like animals. Greg and Sara search Curt’s truck and find dog collars that match the ligature marks. They also find lots of blood spatter on the car. They analyze it and find that there is vomit mixed in. Someone’s been naughty and has been drinking blood!! But what was a vampire doing hanging out with a werewolf. They realize that one of the vampires is sick with Porphyria. This is actually referred to as the Vampire Disease, because it’s symptoms are identical to vampire lore. Ray shines some sunlight on the matter and they learn that it’s Tom Stewart. But they test Tom and Curt’s clothes and there’s not near enough blood. There has to be more evidence back on the mountain.

Sara and Nick find the hatchet and a torn up picture buried near the murder site. The picture shows Michael as a werewolf. I told you!! He was murdered because he fell in love with a vampire. But who killed him? Ray finds the pattern of a Celtic Knot on the hatchet. It was from Julie’s engagement ring! She was stunned to find out that Michael was a werewolf. Tom and Curt got her there, but she killed Michael herself. Crime solved! Bad vampire bride!! Bad girl!

Vartann asked Catherine to move in with him, but she says she likes things the way they are and she doesn’t want to change that. He’s not ecstatic about it, but he agrees to stick to the status quo. Where is Lindsey anyway? Is she old enough to be in college? I would think she’d be a factor here.

This was a good episode. I’m just not overly fond of Vartann. When he’s the featured cop, we don’t get any Brass. I missed Brass tonight. Badly. But overall, I enjoyed it. I’m into vampires, I have to admit. Though I’ve never really liked werewolves. The only one I’ve ever really enjoyed was Oz on Buffy. And he even eventually got on my nerves!

What did you guys think? Was CSI just desperate to jump on the vampire bandwagon? Please leave your comments below or send me an email. I’ll see you back here next week for what looks like a really spooky episode!

Next week: Sqweegel

About Anne

I am 38 years old. I live with my two cats, KC & Rocky. I love crossword puzzles, playing games on my iPhone and on Facebook, I collect movie & TV DVDs, fairies, books and NASCAR memorabilia. I love sports. Philly teams especially!! I am addicted to TV. I love to talk about it!
This entry was posted in CSI and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Give YOUR TwoCents