MyTwoCents – Joining Hollywood in Saying Goodbye to Cory Monteith

rip cory monteith

rip cory monteith

When I woke up this morning, I had two CNN news alerts in my personal email inbox. One about the verdict in all too talked about court case and the other about the passing of Glee’s Cory Monteith.

I immediately jumped on Facebook and saw many sharing the same thoughts I had – way too young. It was tragic to know that poor Cory was so lost into a world of substance abuse, one that most of us can’t even fathom, that it eventually took his life.

I think it struck me a little bit more than I thought it would because I’m currently re-watching all of Glee for the purposes of writing a piece here on TwoCents about the music numbers through the years. So, I’ve been watching these ‘kids’ grow up episode by episode. You can see the kids grow and mature. I watch the Jimmy Fallon Emmy’s Opening with some of the Glee kids (including Cory) and I remember thinking – look at Cory, he just seems SO excited to be a part of this.

This past season, Cory finally looked like the 31 years he actually is. I’m going to miss seeing him continue growing into a roll that seemed to fit him. Or being able to see what was next for him. Maybe it was that he played a lovable goof of a guy that something like this just seems so unfathomable.

We here at TheTwoCents aren’t the only ones saying goodbye – the Hollywood community is as well. Just turn to twitter and you’ll see an outpouring of love.

I’ll update as Glee cast continue to comment on the news. I feel so bad for them all.

Lea Michele @msleamichele (Glee Cast Member, Rachel)
There are no words. My thoughts and prayers are with you. (note: this tweet was up early in the morning and has since been removed)

Mark Salling @MarkSalling (Glee Cast Member, Puck)
Going through a million memories and emotions today. I’ll love you always Brother Cory.

Harry Shum Jr @iharryshum (Glee Cast Member, Mike Chang)
At this time, please send nothing but love and light. This tragic news still doesn’t seem real to me. I love you Cory.

Dot-Marie Jones @dotmariejones (Glee Cast Member, Coach Beiste)
I HAVE NO WORDS! MY HEART IS BROKEN CORY WAS NOT ONLY A HELL OF A FRIEND HE WAS ONE AMAZING MEN THAT I WILL HOLD CLOSE TO. I AM BLESSED TO HAVE WORKED WITH HIM AND LOVE HIM SO MUCH! MY HEART IS WITH HID FAMILY AND OUR WHOLE GLEE FAMILY! I LOVE YOU ALL!

Iqbal Theba @iqbaltheba (Glee Cast Member, Principle Figgins)
OMG!! My Cory…

Kristin Chenoweth @KChenoweth (Glee Cast Guest Star, April Rhodes)
RIP CoryMontieth. You will be loved. Always.

Romy Rosemont@RomyRosemont (Glee Cast Guest Star, Finn’s Mom)
Cory was a gentle, sweet soul & I am grateful to have had the chance to play his Mom. My heart is w/ his family, his Glee family & sweet Lea.

John Stamos @JohnStamos (Glee Cast Guest Star, Dr. Carl)
First day on Glee he said to me, I can’t believe I’m working w/Uncle Jesse- I can’t believe I’m writing this tweet. Heartbreaking. RIP Cory.

1

Alyssa Milano @Alyssa_Milano
Beautiful man! Why did you leave us so soon? Rest with the angels, Cory Monteith.

Christopher Gorham @ChrisGorham
Just read the news about Cory Monteith and am crushed for his parents, family and friends. May he rest in peace.

Retta @unfoRETTAble
Cory Monteith. Stunned. So sad. Condolences.

Eric Stonestreet @ericstonestreet
RIP Cory Monteith. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your loved ones.

Olivia Munn @oliviamunn
Shocked and saddened by the tragic death of Cory Monteith. All my love to his family, friends & girlfriend. #TooSoon

Kunal Nayyar @kunalnayyar
Met Corey Monteith a few times. He was always smiling and lovely. It is always hard to make sense of loss. I have no words… #heartbroken

Willie Garson @WillieGarson
No words can express….goodbye sweet Cory.

Scott Porter @ScottPorter
This news of Cory Monteith’s death just shakes me to my very core. So young. My thoughts and prayers to his family and friends.

Kat Dennings @OfficialKat
I can’t fully process this news. Tragic, tragic loss of a young, promising, talented man. Cory Monteith, rest in peace.

Zooey Deschanel @ZooeyDeschanel
This is such sad news about @CoryMonteith – what an absolutely tragic loss of a very talented young man.

Joel McHale @joelmchale
Way too soon. A very nice & good guy.

Kaley Cuoco @KaleyCuoco
Cory Monteith no words. Prayers. Thoughts w his family. This is terrible. Can’t speak.

Neil Patrick Harris @ActuallyNPH
How sad to read about Cory Monteith passing away. What a shame. He was a lovely, kind, talented guy and will be missed.

There are SO SO SO many more!

And finally – the amazing Marlee Matlin @MarleeMatlin who shared this thought and a great video.
You can truly feel the talent of a singer when you can watch and SEE the words they sing.

Rest in Peace Cory. I will truly miss your performances.
-KP

KP is a Member of the Broadcast Television Journalists Association and Found/Editor-In-Chief of TheTwoCents. You can follow him on Twitter. @KPonTV

This entry was posted in Misc Shows and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to MyTwoCents – Joining Hollywood in Saying Goodbye to Cory Monteith

  1. Lyssa says:

    Been bawling like a baby since I heard…

  2. jules says:

    Just so, so sad. I hope the press respects the privacy of his family, friends, cast and crew while they grieve.

Give YOUR TwoCents

