TwoCents and Five Questions with Simon Helberg (The Big Bang Theory)

simon says

simon says

Simon Helberg, Actor

Simon Helberg plays the very quirky Howard Wolowitz on CBS’s The Big Bang Theory. The show is finishing off its sixth season and remains the number one comedy on CBS. Simon’s character is the only one in the gang who is married, but he’s still just as loveable and nerdy as ever. The success of the show in general really does show that we geeks do, in fact, rule the world. I was offered the chance to have a one-on-one interview with Simon to talk about Howard and the upcoming finale and I jumped at the opportunity. Here is what he had to say.

TheTwoCents: At the end of last season and the beginning of this season, Howard got to live his lifelong dream of going into space. How was it for you working with NASA and the astronauts?
Simon Helberg: It was incredible. I actually worked with a few, who came in and told their stories, but mostly I worked closest with Mike Massamino, who appeared with me on the show. He actually did what I did on the show in space. It was great, because when we were getting suited up in these spacesuits, that were actual replicas of the suits they wore, except for the cooling systems; Mike had goosebumps. Even the room was an exact replica. Hearing him talking about seeing Earth from space was really cool. It was all very deep and transcendental. I can’t say I was really in space though. Just on tv.

TTC: How do you think it has changed the dynamic of the group with Howard being the only one who is married?
SH: I don’t think it’s changed the dynamic of the group really, just the dynamic of Howard. It’s a paradigm shift. He’s really made a complete evolution. I had a conversation with Chuck Lorre about it. Howard still has a long way to go in learning how to be more independent from his mother and needs to mature some more. He’s about 20% there, whereas the other guys are still only about 5%-7%. Howard just got there a little quicker.

TTC: Are you ever just a little horrified at the clothing they make you wear?
SH: Yes. Mary Quigley, our costume designer, does a great job of picking out all the clothes. But sometimes, I peek around the corner in trepidation to see what I’m wearing next. I’ll see a pair of pants and wonder why there’s only one leg…and then I’ll realize that they’re just THAT skinny. Sometimes I need help from the two poor women to take them off. I suppose there are worse jobs. Some of my belt buckles are actually dangerous.

TTC:How much of the geekiness for you guy is an act? I, personally, am proud to be a geek.
SH: Yeah, there’s always someone who knows something about Star Wars or Star Trek or other science fiction or gaming, but they couldn’t have picked four guys who knew less about that stuff then us. Uhuru? Uhura? Who’s he? Oh, it’s a she? I see. Of course we’re not as big as novices as we used to be, that’s for sure!

TTC:What can you share with our readers about the upcoming season finale?
SH: Oh, there’s going to be a great adventure for one of the guys! Stephen Hawking’s crew is going on an expedition to the North Sea and one of the guys is going to go along. So there’s that. And there’s going to be lots of moving stuff and some groundbreaking stuff that we’ve never done before. It’s going to be a great show!

*Bonus Question*
TTC: If you encountered someone who had never experienced any television, what three series from all time would you recommend for them?
SH: Hmm, I would have to say, I Love Lucy, The Sopranos, and for a sitcom, I think Curb Your Enthusiasm is a good one to represent today’s comedy.

I don’t know about you guys, but I can’t wait! Tune in to the season finale of The Big Bang Theory next Thursday, May 16th, at 8:30pm ET and watch Simon and the gang! Then tune in on Friday here for Kym’s review! Thanks for reading and have a great day!

Anne – Assistant TO the Editor-in-Chief
anne@thetwocentscorp.com

About Anne

I am 38 years old. I live with my two cats, KC & Rocky. I love crossword puzzles, playing games on my iPhone and on Facebook, I collect movie & TV DVDs, fairies, books and NASCAR memorabilia. I love sports. Philly teams especially!! I am addicted to TV. I love to talk about it!
This entry was posted in Big Bang Theory and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Give YOUR TwoCents

