Dancing With The Stars – Recap & Review – Quarter Finals/Trios Challenge Results

photo: abc

photo: abc

Dancing With The Stars
Quarter Finals/Trios Challenge Results

Original Air Date May 7, 2013

Colleen – TwoCents Reviewer
Colleen@thetwocentscorp.com

Tonight is the results from last night’s Quarter Finals. Tonight we find out who will go on to the Semi-Finals. Who will go home tonight? We are about to find that out!

As usual, we start the night off with the Dancing The Stars Dance Troupe and the professionals. I love watching this. These dancers work their butts off all week, but they make it look so easy, don’t you agree?

What I love most about the results show (other than the entertainment) is looking back at what happened the previous night. It is a real reminder of what we saw, what we liked and what we hated.

This week’s encore dance was done by Zendaya & Val (with Gleb). This is who the judges get to pick each week to do their favorite dance of the week. I have to say that even though it seems that Zendaya & Val get picked just about every week that I never tire of watching them. Zendaya has such talent, and I am sure her being on “Shake It Up” on the Disney Channel has something to do with it – she has what it takes to take up a challenge and has the background to make her a better dancer, too. I am trying to remember back to last season when her cast mate was on and I do not think he made it as far as her. I hope she can go all the way and win it.

Tonight’s musical performance comes from Jason DeRulo. I have never heard of him before, but his sound is almost that of Usher. I even thought for a moment that I was listening to Usher. He was very good and I will have to look further into his music. Check him out if you know nothing about him. You won’t be sorry!

This was the first time that the viewers on Twitter got to pick a new style of dance that has never been done on the show before (and will be danced on Monday’s show – so they will have time to prepare). Will these be the new dances of next season? We will have to wait and see on that, but here are the results of the Twitter vote:

Kelly & Derek – Flamenco
Ingo & Kym – Charleston
Zendaya & Val – Hip Hop
Sean & Peta – Disco
Aly & Mark – Afro Jazz
Jacoby & Karina – Lindy Hop

Are there any surprises? I know that Aly wanted Afro Jazz and Zendaya, well that is the style of dance she does on “Shake It Up” so I know I am rooting for Zendaya on that one. Of course, we all know that this is the results show, so one of the couples will not be dancing their dance that the voters of Twitter wanted for them.

If you are a regular watcher of Dancing With The Stars, you know about Ingo’s son, Peanut. He is in the ballroom every single show and the cast loves him. They showed a day in the life while he is at the ballroom. It was really cute. Peanut does make it well worth it.

The Macy’s Stars of Dance is next with Derek & Jaime. Earlier tonight, Derek showed us a rotating room that will be used for the dance. It reminded me of the Janet & Michael Jackson video for “Scream.” I have to say I loved it, because it takes a lot of work to make it look space-like and gravity defying talent for this to happen. What do you think of a room like this that makes it look like they are in space?

Tonight’s other musical performer is Emeli Sande. I think she is a wonderful singer. However, I do not know how she has sold more “records” than the Beatles. She is good, I will admit that. But is she better than the Beatles? You really cannot say that because she is a single singer and the Beatles were a group. There is no comparison in my mind. What do you think of this?

To recap from last night:
Leader board – First – Zendaya & Val (58), Aly & Mark (56); Third – Derek & Kelly (55); Fourth – Jacoby & Karina (52); Fifth – Ingo & Kym (48); Sixth – Sean & Peta (42)

Safe couples
Ingo & Kym; Zendaya & Val; Aly & Mark

Bottom three
Kellie & Derek; Jacoby & Karina; Sean & Peta

Bottom two
Jacoby & Karina; Sean & Peta

Going home
Sean & Peta

I have to say that I was not surprised when Sean & Peta’s names were called, saying that they were going home tonight (and we don’t need to see him attempt Disco next Monday, either). Sean should have been eliminated long ago. He had his weeks where he did well, but overall, I was not hopeful. I am surprised he lasted this long.

What did you think of tonight’s entertainment? What do you think about Sean & Peta going home? Did you see it coming? Are there any other thoughts?

Time for your TwoCents!

This entry was posted in Dancing With The Stars and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dancing With The Stars – Recap & Review – Quarter Finals/Trios Challenge Results

  1. Annette says:

    I’m glad Sean finally got eliminated. I think he got lucky lasting this long, but there were a lot of weak dancers this season and he was a little better than most of them.

    I loved Derek’s dance! It was so cool. After watching it once, I wanted to see them do the dance and see the room spinning at the same time to see how it all worked out.

    Roshon (Zendaya’s cast mate from Shake It Up) was eliminated in the quarter finals of Season 14. I remember he was pretty good, but nowhere near as good as Zendaya. Her trio dance was out of this world. She looked like a professional.

  2. Colleen says:

    I have to agree with you. Sean was not very good, but he may of had the following of the viewers from his time as “Bachelor” to back him up. I had a feeling the night before the announcement that he was being added that this was the big announcement that they were talking about. I had high hopes for him before the show began, but I think that he was not right for the show since all the focus was on the wedding. Do you think that his appearance on DWTS had anything to do with that?

    I loved Derek’s dance as well. If you watched before the dance, they did give a taste of what the room looked like while they were in practice mode. I thought it was pretty cool since it was something that had never been tried before on the show.

    I had been pulling for Roshon last season (and thank you for reminding me of his name, by the way) and thought he was good – until I saw Zedaya. She tops his performances and I hope she goes all the way. I have to say that I am looking forward to her Hip Hop routine on Monday. I hope that Val lets Zendaya take the lead on this one with the choreography since she is more versed in it than he is. He actually looked intimidated when the announcement was made, don’t you think?

Give YOUR TwoCents

