My TwoCents: When TV Stars Write Books

photo (7)A lot of television actors these days fancy themselves writers. Not all of them can pull it off, however. The majority are comedic, lately I’ve read Tina Fey’s “Bossypants”, which was good and Mindy Kaling’s “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)”, which was absolutely hilarious and relative. Some are hard hitting bios, like Kristen Johnston’s “Guts”. Many even try straight fiction, like Nicole Richie and Lauren Conrad. But none can hold a candle to Seth Peterson’s book of poetry, “#Eclection”.

The Providence (Robbie Hansen) and Burn Notice (Nate Westen) star opens with his first ever published poem and pours his heart out page after beautiful page. The artwork is gorgeous, but it’s the words themselves that draw you in and make you feel. Some made me smile, some made me cry and some made me really think about my own life. Here is one of my favorites that he’s allowed me to share:

photo (8)

I haven’t always understood poetry, but Seth has gotten me to appreciate it much more than ever before and he’s even inspired me to write some of my own. I have a passion for it now. His book has 48 of his best poems from some of the most poignant moments of his life. It also has two pages of the random thoughts he is famous for sharing on Twitter (@sethpetersonla). The book is available on both Kindle and in paperback. I highly recommend it. Seth also has some of his Zombie haikus published in “Haiku of the Living Dead” Assembled by Miranda Doerfler with Rachel Lynn Brody and he wrote an awesome Zombie short story, which is downloadable to any device and is free. It’s so great! Give his books a try! And follow him on Twitter, you won’t regret it!

Who are some of your favorite TV star authors? I also enjoy Bruce Campbell, Chelsea Handler, Ellen Degeneres, and Tori Spelling! Please tell me some of your favorites in the comments below! Thank you and have a great weekend!

Anne – Assistant TO the Editor-in-Chief
anne@thetwocentscorp.com

About Anne

I am 38 years old. I live with my two cats, KC & Rocky. I love crossword puzzles, playing games on my iPhone and on Facebook, I collect movie & TV DVDs, fairies, books and NASCAR memorabilia. I love sports. Philly teams especially!! I am addicted to TV. I love to talk about it!
This entry was posted in Burn Notice, Misc Shows and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My TwoCents: When TV Stars Write Books

  1. laurenattc says:

    I love the comedic authors, too, especially the females mentioned here – Tina Fey, Ellen, Chelsea Handler. I’ve been wanting to check out Sarah Colonna’s book (from Chelsea’s shows). Most recently, though, I saw that Lauren Graham has a debut novel coming out in April called Someday, Someday, Maybe. I am really excited about it!!

  2. Dorothy says:

    Oh i would live to hear what Bruce Campbell has to say!! Brooke Elliott, Patrick Dempsey, Colin Morgan and Bradley James! Anne what a wonderful tribute to Seth’s #Eclection. Anyone who enjoys poetry will love this book!

    • Anne says:

      Bruce Campbell’s books are wonderful! He has two. “How to Make Love the Bruce Campbell Way” and “If Chins Could Kill”.🙂

      And thank you! I obviously agree about Seth’s book!❤

Give YOUR TwoCents

