How I Met Your Mother – Recap & Review – P.S. I Love You

photo: cbs

photo: cbs

How I Met Your Mother
P.S. I Love You

Original Air Date: Feb 4, 2013

Caitlin –Senior Staff Writer
caitlin@thetwocentscorp.com

If you’re concerned about why a sitcom is taking over the titles of romantic novels/films, never fear, as it’s for good reason. I mean, what would you expect after “Sandcastles in the Sand”? Yes, it’s the return of Robin Sparkles!

And yet I must warn that the episode title might still be a little bit misleading. By now, we’re familiar with what Robin was like when she was a teen pop star in Canada. This installment, though, might just change that a bit. Prepare yourselves.

Ted, for his part, spends the episode perusing and/or stalking a girl named Janette from the subway. She’s into him, too, which might not necessarily be a good thing, seeing as she pulled a fire alarm at his college. But it also inspires Robin to remember when she was a bit obsessed with a guy, too. This, in turn, pushes Barney to Canada in search of the guy and eventually Robin Sparkles herself.

What Barney discovers is a VH1-esque program on Robin Sparkles, and the turn for the worst she took once her previously giddy image got on her own nerves. Apparently, at a unique version of the Super Bowl, she became “Robin Daggers”, much to the dismay of all of Canada. “P.S. I Love You” was in fact a very dark song, directed towards an unknown man. Barney’s first suspect is Alan Thicke. It’s just that kind of episode.

No, the target of Robin’s devotion was not Alan Thicke (though Mr. Thicke does have to physically fend off Barney before we learn this). It was, however, Paul Schaefer, which I’m not sure is much better. By the end of it all, Lily reveals she got a bit creepy herself many years back in order to meet Marshall, and Ted hooks up with Janette even though she actually set a fire to meet him and stalked him for over a year. Again, it’s just that kind of episode.

I should note, though, that future Ted refers to his behavior at the end of this weird day as his “last big mistake” before meeting the Mother. This is a sure sign that the revelation we’ve all been waiting for is closer than ever. Now that a ninth and final season of the show has finally been confirmed, it may mean we’ll see quite a bit of Ted’s wife before the end of the series. Are you excited?

Next Week: Bad Crazy

This entry was posted in How I Met Your Mother and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How I Met Your Mother – Recap & Review – P.S. I Love You

  1. FK says:

    While this recap is good, the greatness of all things Canadian missing from it needs to be pointed out. The amazingly replicated Tim Horton’s, the “Behind the Music” type-question where each person said what type of Horton donut they were eating and where (and how “The Priestly” is now actually a thing…), Dave Coulier swearing it wasn’t him (poking fun at himself and the Alanis rumors, who Robin Daggers was essentially based on) … did I miss anything? I have to admit, I loved Robin with the long hair, but not the goth makeup.

    As far as the mother, I believe I read we’ll meet her in the finale and next season is all about their journey. I could be wrong, but I’m pretty sure that’s what it is.

Give YOUR TwoCents

