Criminal Minds – Recap & Review – Lauren

photo: cbs

Criminal Minds
Lauren

Original Air Date: Mar 16, 2011

JD – Sr. Staff Writer
jd@thetwocentscorp.com

This is the episode us Criminal Minds fans have been heavily anticipating. The general consensus seems to have been a mix of dread and excitement. What’s going to happen with Prentiss and Ian Doyle? How difficult are they going to make it for Prentiss to come back, should Paget Brewster’s NBC pilot not get picked up? How is JJ going to come into all of this? How awesome is Matthew Gray Gubler going to be directing (again)?

I found myself worried, hoping they were going to do Prentiss’ departure well, and excited at the same time to see JJ, even if it’s our last time. I know I wasn’t alone. We may not have beat out American Idol in last night’s ratings, but we came in a solid second.

So last week, Prentiss walked out of the BAU without telling anyone, in the middle of Hotch giving a profile. We know she’s doing it to protect her team, but the team needs to figure that out. They do it in lightening fast time, too. The names on a list Prentiss gave them all have the initials L. R., then Reid remembers her saying “Lauren Reynolds is dead”, and Hotch discovers she left her gun and badge in her desk. Rossi puts together that Doyle is killing families, and that the team is all Prentiss has (wah!), and bingo! That happened too fast for me to buy it, but I realize there’s a lot of ground to cover in this episode, so I’ll let it slide.

While they do that, Prentiss is out hanging around old haunts, and we get a flashback of her first meeting with Ian Doyle. She met with him wanting to “get into business” with a former IRA Captain named Valhalla. He might know him, he says, and she invites him to have this conversation somewhere more private… which is where the flashback ends as her thoughts are interrupted. Fahey, the guy who introduced her to Doyle, is currently getting kicked out of the bar, and she follows.

Hotch gets the team ready to work the case, telling them they will just have to profile like Doyle is the unsub and Prentiss is the victim, and that he’s brought someone in to help that can shed light on Prentiss’ past. Enter JJ! In spite of the case, I can’t deny that I felt warmed straight through to see her.

That feeling disappeared pretty quick though when we cut back to Prentiss in Fahey’s car with a gun to his head. Fahey’s a rat, and Prentiss wants to know details about Doyle. Apparently he has about 15-20 guys with him, deals with automatic weapons, and still has ties with the IRA, and now the mob. With that info, Prentiss does what she has to to not get caught by Fahey ratting her out. The camera pans out to a wide shot, then BAM!

WOW. What a way to start this episode!

At the BAU, JJ runs down the info on the case, most of which we already know. New info is that Prentiss was part of a team known as JTF-12, which was assembled after 9/11 to profile terrorist. Oh, and the team finds out that Emily was Doyle’s “type”, which answers the question of just how close they got. Rossi and Morgan head to Prentiss’ apartment, where Morgan angsts (understandably) about how he trusted Prentiss, but may have never really knew her, Rossi actually works. He finds Prentiss’ passport, the real one, so she’s not fleeing the country. And it turns out that ring she flushed last episode didn’t quite get flushed.

Rossi says it’s a Gimmal ring, a sort of engagement ring, and that she kept it meant that it meant something to her. The team decides to head to Boston, thinking Prentiss may have gone back to where the Doyle case began.

Flashback number two is next. Doyle’s associates don’t trust Emily, and think Doyle is too blind to see it. And it seems they’re right. We get a little kissy kissy, then Doyle gives her the ring on a chain, because she said she’s not the marrying type. Gee, I wonder why? She accepts the ring, and then he drops the bomb: he is Valhalla. I thought that was really well done, actually. Yes, she was in love with a Bad Guy, but she didn’t know he was THE Bad Guy until it was too late.

The team manages to catch up with Clyde, who is also heading to Boston with a suitcase full of cash. And then we have the most heartbreaking thing ever. Garcia has tracked down an old phone number of Prentiss’ and left a devastated voice mail for her. Hearing Garcia beg Prentiss to come home, or stay alive, and watching Prentiss’ face… I cried. Then I cried again when I watched the episode a second time.

But there’s not much time to dwell when Prentiss spots Doyle’s gang getting into an SUV across the street from the car she’s been sitting in. She quickly assembles an automatic weapon, strides across the street, blasts the SUV, then throws a grenade in the window.

I repeat: She THROWS A FRIGGIN’ GRENADE IN THE SUV. (Okay, yeah, it was a flash grenade, but still!)

Holy crap! That’s insane, and ruthless, and I love it!

One tiny problem, though. When she demands to know where Doyle is from the lucky passengers, he turns out to be right behind her. With a gun. BAM! Prentiss is in trouble now.

Okay, guys, I have to say that I really kind of loved this episode! I love that they kept us on the edge of our seat, torn between being outraged and sympathetic with Prentiss. They would show her doing these horrible things, and then we’d find out later that she either didn’t do them the way we were led to believe, or that she did them for the right reasons.

Her shooting Fahey? Not so much…. Her falling in love with Valhalla? Well, she didn’t really know who he was… Her ”killing an innocent”, as Doyle says? I kinda figured it was a set up, but still, they kept us guessing so much. Even with Clyde, they did. Prentiss didn’t trust him last episode, but he wound up helping the team!

Morgan, of course, is always the doubter and the skeptic, so it made total sense for him to be the one most outwardly upset, and the scene at the end with them in the warehouse was perfect. Now it makes sense why Morgan and Prentiss have been spending so much time together in the build up to this. Not only did it make the “betrayal” more personal to Morgan when he had been trying to reach out to her, but the bottom line about why she did all this is something the both of them have in common: the deep desire to protect children.

We know about Morgan’s history, which explains why he finds it harder to control his emotions when kids are involved in a case. We also know that he connects with kids really well, and we had the whole sub-plot with Ellie in the beginning of the season to underline that. Then we have Prentiss, who still carries tremendous guilt over her abortion at 15, didn’t have a happy childhood herself, and once tried to adopt a teenage girl who was left an orphan (so she thought) at the end of a case. It’s totally in fitting with her character, then, that she did this all to save a kid, and made it okay for Morgan to completely forgive her at the end too. Good thing, too, since he may never speak to her again.

This episode actually makes me feel good about the show, as much as it sucks that Prentiss may not come back. It, at the very least, showed that our writers know how to write someone off of the show WELL when they have warning. Up until now, the departures of casts members have all been sudden and unexpected. This time, they had plenty of time to plan, and they really gave Prentiss a great send off.

Oh, and randomly, Reid sniffing out the hoodrat at Rossi’s prompting was priceless. Also, Seaver actually contributed something useful!

So what did you guys think? Loved it? Hated it? Give me your Two Cents!

This entry was posted in Criminal Minds and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Criminal Minds – Recap & Review – Lauren

  1. Lisa says:

    It was a love/hate kind of thing.

    I thought Paget was ABSOLUTELY amazing. I thought Emily and Doyle’s scenes together were beyond brilliant…both the present and the flashbacks (except for the little kid actor’s awkward reentrance into the last flashback).

    But so much of the episode felt rushed…it felt like there were gaping holes in the story…like 1/3 of it ended up on the cutting room floor. I hated the scene with Rossi and Seaver…it felt contrived and off base and just ICK. That profilers would not figure out that her death was faked? That requires a willing suspension of disbelief that I am not capable of.

    The parts with this episode that were right were SO right, but the parts that were off were WAY off. Overall, though I think there was much more right than wrong…Garcia’s message and every moment of Paget’s screen time…amazing. Overall I’d give it a 7.5

    • jd says:

      I have to disagree about them knowing her death was faked. They do know that things like that happen, but they had every reason to believe she was dead. Morgan crouched over her with a stake through her gut and her telling him to let her go. The fact that she ALMOST died wasn’t faked, and because of that, it doesn’t bother me that they bought it. On top of that, they were probably all still in shock, and not just from her “death” but from learning all this stuff about her.

      I do agree about the Seaver and Rossi scene, though. It felt way over done.

  2. Heather says:

    So, I had mixed feelings about the episode. And a few things…
    1) I thought JJ should have gotten more time. She only got one more episode, so she should have gotten more screen time.

    2) I loved Morgan in this episode. I agree, his characterization was PERFECT here! The anger, plus the tenderness over the kids… I loved it.

    3) Reid with the “hoodrat” was just awesome. It was a much needed comedic moment that is just classic Reid.

    4) I totally did not buy the Seaver/Rossi scene. There is no way that the team could not have figured out what she did. I still cannot stand Seaver. I really wish she would leave instead of all these others. Every time I see her, I appreciate Jordan Todd more…

    5) Paget Brewster was amazing! The switching back between Lauren and Prentiss was amazing. I am glad they sort of “killed” her, but I also thought that the ending was a bit much. I get that it’s the only way they realistically could have done it, but still… I would’ve been happier had they just left it with the funeral, then surprised us later if Paget’s contract was renewed.

    Lastly, did anyone else find the hospital scene just plain bad… I mean, I was looking at the tv like, “really?? She’s not dead, you idiots! Look at JJ…look at Hotch! They both know!” For the best profilers in the world, they were a bit, shall we say…slow.

    • jd says:

      Re: #1 YESSSSS!

      The Seaver/Rossi scene was over done, but JORDAN TODD?!?! Really?!?! I HATED Jordan. All she did was cause drama! Jordan Todd made me appreciate JJ a hundred times more!

      Then again, I kind of like Seaver. I just wish they would give her more to work with!

      And regarding the last scene, they were all in shock, and Morgan had just seen her almost die. She asked him to let her go. I don’t think it’s a stretch, given that she was close to death anyway, that they believed it. Hotch and JJ are very good (usually) at containing their emotions.

    • Briane says:

      Oh my goodness! I agree with you 100%. Espcially your last comment about JJ and Hotch knowing that Prentiss was still alive and the team (profilers) didn’t figure it out. I mean come on! It was so obvious! Maybe they were in tears and so sad to notice, but still!

  3. K says:

    I’m really in love with this episode! Ian Doyle and Emily seems to have such great chemistry!

    really looking forwards to seeing emily’s return, and how this is all going to end. at the hospital when everyone was waiting for emily… and jj stopping reid from going in. i knew then she must be ‘alive’. but it’s so sad how they’re making reid and morgan think she’s dead. especially morgan, right after they made up too!

    the reid moment was sooooo epic, and so reid, so deadpan! when he was called ‘beanpole’ he actually turned around and looked behind him, in a corner!

    • jd says:

      Well, it’s sad that Morgan thinks she’s dead after all that, but AT LEAST he got to tell her how he felt, and that he was proud of her. It was good that he got that closure.

      LOL Yes! Beanpole? What beanpole?

  4. Angela says:

    I liked the episode. I’ll be the dissenting voice and say I kind of liked the Seaver and Rossi scene. And, I’m still fairly indifferent to Seaver and am not Rossi’s biggest fan. But, I thought Rachel Nichols played the whole “panicky, not ready to be tossed in without a net” thing very well.

    Would have liked more JJ. And the episode scared me more than once. Prentiss killed a kid? Even for good reasons, no way she could be looked at the same way (and they totally made it plausible that she might have). And then relief that it was just fake. And despite lapping up every spoiler out there, I believed the death at first. I thought maybe they planted false spoilers to make it more shocking. Fortunately, my mother is good at these things and figured it out beforehand.

    But, I see nothing off about the team not knowing. It’s not like Prentiss dying was all that implausible. She must have needed surgery and she could have died. I don’t see how being profilers would make them know that something probable like that didn’t happen. JJ did have tears in her eyes when she told them. And I doubt anyone was looking at Hotch. And, if they were, his leaving the room could be read as him being overcome with sorrow. The only behavior they could have profiled that might have suggested something being up was JJ stopping Reid from seeing the body. But, I can see them being too stunned by the news to get suspicious of her behavior.

    • jd says:

      Yes, I know! In spite of having read that they were going to make it possible for Paget to come back, for a split second I thought maybe it had been untrue and designed to shock us. My husband bought it and turned to me to see my reaction, but I just kept staring at the screen going “No, she’s not supposed to die. She can’t die. She’s not going to die.” lol!

      Oh good, someone who agrees with me! I mean, she looked like she was going to die already! Why should they question? And as far as JJ stopping Reid, she might have done that even if Prentiss HAD died. What good would it have done him to see her dead body, you know? The whole “remember her for who she was alive, and not like this” thing they always tell victim”s families.

    • jennygadget says:

      I totally buy the team believing Prentiss is dead. Why would they think otherwise? We, the viewers, may have seen JJ glaring at Hotch, but the team was all a little distracted at the time. And that’s a pretty big leap, to decide that one of your best friends is lying about another best friend being dead. Especially when the person doing the lying is as good at it as JJ is. They may be world class profilers, but so is JJ, and she’s in a class by herself when it comes to lying.

      • jd says:

        JJ was glaring at Hotch? She had Serious Face, but it didn’t look like a glare to me. I’ll have to re-watch!

  5. K says:

    When reid started to say “I didn’t get to say goodbye to her” it really broke my heart. worst still is when jj and hotch didn’t tell her that yes, she’s alive! i mean, they’re jerking the whole team’s feelings around! if prentiss does come back, morgan is going to raise HELL!

    • jd says:

      I hope you’re wrong. Surely Morgan (and the team) will realize that they got “jerked around” ONLY because they wanted to keep Prentiss alive. I think it was the right thing for Hotch and JJ to do.

  6. K says:

    also, it was pretty epic when reid got mad and threatened the ‘hoodrat’ guy (what was his name????) it’s almost the first time we got to see reid mad the way morgan might in integration, we went from a classic reid moment to a new confident reid moment, thought i should mention the epicness of it, since it’s the picture up on top. reid leaning in on a perp until he talked… squee!

  7. AdriAnna says:

    Even though Matthew Gray Gubler directed this episode, it was not one of my favorite ones. (I enjoyed Mosley Lane alot more) I thought there was just to much crammed into one episode for it to be fully appreciated the way i think it could have been, if it had been drawn out a little bit.

    Either way, it was a good episode, not my favorite, but memorable. Which is important. Every director wants their work to be memorable and this is.

Give YOUR TwoCents